College Reflections: School

With the end of my college career approaching, I decided it would be fitting to write a series of posts reflecting on my years in college at John Brown University. During the next few days, I will be reflecting on different aspects of my time in college, namely School, Church, and Work. The final post in the series will contain some advice to those that are currently in college or will beginning that journey soon. Hope you enjoy!

I arrived at John Brown University four short years ago driving a white Jeep full of furniture, clothing, and other items to outfit suite 18C in the J. Alvin dorm. A lot has happened in the four years following that day. As I prepare to pack up my Dodge Avenger in a few weeks and drive off into the sunset, I decided it would be a good time to reflect on some of the things that have occurred during my time at JBU.

One of the recurring themes at JBU is “Head, Heart, and Hand.” In other words, the university tries to promote a holistic approach to education by encouraging students to develop academically, interpersonally, and spiritually. The academic atmosphere at JBU has been exceptional: the majority of professors not only challenge their students to do their best in their studies; they also build relationships with students. In the classes for my major (Marketing), I have had the opportunity to apply what I’ve learned to create marketing plans for real companies and clients like Heather Hill Clothing and WorshipVue for them to take ideas from. And of course, there is the senior business capstone class Strategic Management. For the class, students work in teams to create a business plan that showcases the knowledge they have gained in all of their business classes. In the spring semester, the students can then choose to enter their plan into the Donald W. Reynolds Arkansas Governor’s Cup competition, like my team did. After my time at John Brown, I am confident about the knowledge that I have gained and that I am prepared to succeed in my future career.

In addition to my marketing major, I also chose to minor in Outdoor Leadership Ministry. While the camping, climbing, canoeing, belaying, and other outdoor pursuits that were a part of the minor were a lot of fun, I was able to learn a lot about teamwork, team-building, and problem-solving as a result.  The ability to work with people and adapt an environment to fit the situation are skills that will be valuable for the rest of my life. The OLM program enabled me to see the importance of enabling individuals to use their strengths together to achieve more as a team than they could accomplish as individuals. This applies in friendships, ministry, or business. Life is like survival in the wilderness; it’s hard to do alone.

When I think back on my time at JBU, I will recall professors that invested in my life, the friends I have made, the opportunities I had to travel with JBUltimate and for classes, and the overall growth I experienced. Though there are some things I would change about JBU, in the end, I am thankful that this is where I’ve gotten to study for the past few years.

-Lawson
Learn It. Love It. Live It.

Seniors, what is your favorite college memory? (Share in the comments)

About Lawson Hembree
Lawson is an entrepreneur, ministry leader, and outdoors enthusiast who also enjoys blogging about business, ideas, and theology. Want to continue the discussion or write a guest post? Let's Connect!

3 Responses to College Reflections: School

  1. My favorite memory was working with my Marketing Strategies group!

    It was a really great group: we learned a lot, talked a lot, worked a lot, told some good jokes (me), told some bad jokes (Brandon), and put together a great marketing plan.

    (Maybe this isn’t my #1 all-time favorite memory, but it was a great one!)

  2. Pingback: College Reflections: Church « A Little Bit of Everything

  3. Pingback: College Reflections: Advice « A Little Bit of Everything

Leave a Reply

